Friday, February 24, 2017

Fast Friday Indie Interviews: Alberto Pupo

Alberto Pupo

Tell me about yourself, Alberto?

Born and raised in Miami Florida lived there and in Orlando FL for almost 30 years. Before relocating Maryland in 2013. Currently residing in Frederick MD with my Wife and three children. I have always had a longtime passion for writing since the tender age of 13 however life happened and I tried for many years to pursue a career in law., ultimately life throws many curve balls and I became burnt out with the “traditional path” and chose the path of the starving artist! Alas, here I stand hoping to someday make it big!  One can dream. right?

Tell me about your current Book:

Time Trigger is based around the year 2474. 10% of the population is born with the ability to time travel, the other 90% must learn it from those with the gift (if they feel like sharing!). Our protagonist Connor Walker is an employee at a massive Entertainment Conglomerate called The Network (actually the only entertainment conglomerate which controls all entertainment and art)

Connor is basically sick of them, so being a natural born time traveler he decides to go back and alter time so that he can ensure to keep the arts and entertainment free from their clutches! However, the only way to do this is to find… yes, a Time Trigger. This is a random event somewhere in the time stream which is the only way that time can be altered. However, these events are random and there is little instruction on how to find one.

Connor does eventually find a way… however changing things will have unintended consequences.

What are you working on now?    

I am currently working on a science fiction trilogy called the Silberian Chronicles. The first part of it will be published hopefully later this yea

Where is your favorite place to be when you write?   

I do all my writing on a laptop setup on the main floor of my home, not the ideal spot but the only spot I have so beggars can’t be choosers.

What is your favorite lesson you have learned about the business of writing?        

I have learned that this business is impossible… Actually the most important take away is that one needs to wear many hats in today’s business, you need to be a writer as well as a promoter so it’s not just a matter of sitting back and waiting for magical things to happen.

What is your favorite Website?   

Honestly when it comes to websites I really don’t have a favorite now that I think on it.

Links:

Email: alberto.pupo@hotmail.com
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06VVFHC57
Blog: https://albertopupoblog.wordpress.com/
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/Alberto-L-Pupo-1883967465164231/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AlbertoPupo84



Thursday, February 23, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Quotes of the Week

It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all…people.
—James Baldwin

There were times I thought I'd never sell another book, but I never doubted I'd write another book.
—George R.R. Martin

Be sure not to discuss your hero's state of mind. Make it clear from his actions.
—Anton Chekhov

The story I am writing exists, written in absolutely perfect fashion, some place, in the air.
—Jules Renard

The most important lesson in the writing trade is that any manuscript is improved if you cut away the fat.
—Robert A. Heinlein

Never use a long word where a short one will do.
—George Orwell

As a writer, one spends a lifetime...trying to minimize, if not eliminate, the distance between language and thought.
—Arundhati Roy

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Tuesday Tips: Be Willing to Change

Some people write for themselves, just to get something out of their head. I write the kind of stories I like to read. I hope other people like them as well and send me money. If selling your book is a goal, one big tool to that end is a willingness to change it.

I have recently sent my novel to my editor. This is the month when I take a breather and step away from it as it begins to get reviewed by others.

My editor does more than Copy-Edits. She covers the whole spectrum. Find a good editor and PAY them. They are the best investment.

I will get a pile of feedback about what works, what doesn't, where it's weak and just plain F'd up.

At first taking suggestions from others was difficult for me. This book was my baby! What do you mean, my baby is ugly!?

The key here is to find the right people to help you make your book not suck. Finding the right editor is tough enough. Finding Beta-readers is even more difficult.

A Beta-reader is someone that reads my book when it is in the final stages and gives me feedback on everything. They comment on characters, plot, settings and anything else. You don't need to take all your recommendations but if ten people ALL tell you that chapter ruined their lives forever, they may be onto something. This feedback always makes my books better.

The willingness to change is kind of a superpower. It will result in better reviews and more sales.

I met an aspiring author that had been working on the same novel for 30 years. At the first suggestions in our writers-group (the reason for the group) he flew off the handle. Stormed off in a fury and we were being nice to him because he was a first timer. He came for praise, not help.

--Assemble a team you trust. They are gold!




Monday, February 20, 2017

Reading: JET

This week I read JET by Russell Blake.

Here is the description from Amazon:

Code name: Jet

Twenty-eight-year-old Jet was once the Mossad's most lethal operative before faking her own death and burying that identity forever.

But the past doesn't give up on its secrets easily.

When her new life on a tranquil island is shattered by a brutal attack, Jet must return to a clandestine existence of savagery and deception to save herself and those she loves. A gritty, unflinching roller-coaster of high-stakes twists and shocking turns, JET features a new breed of protagonist that breaks the mold.


Fans of Lisbeth Salander, SALT, and the Bourne trilogy will find themselves carried along at Lamborghini speed to a conclusion as jarring and surprising as the story's heroine is unconventional.

--I enjoyed this quick read! All action, bad-ass, hot woman in black leather!